• Thoothoor-629 176
  • Kanyakumari District
  • Phone:04651-240715
  • Fax:04651-241305

Department of Physics

About US

      The department of Physics was installed in the annals of this institute during 1986-87. In a bid to bring job opportunities and scope for higher studies to the undergraduate mathematics students who were denied the opportunity of studying allied physics subject, the management decided to start B.Sc., Physics programme in this institution. This programme got the affiliation of Madurai Kamaraj University, Madurai, with Applied electronics and Mathematics as ancillary subjects. The programme started on 07.07.1986 with Dr.S.L.Rayar as HOD and Dr. M. Brightson as its next member. In subsequent years, Mr. A. Ubaldraj, Dr. Teresa Sobhana.Dr.C.Henry, Dr. C. Vijayakumar and Mr.C.VincentJerin were appointed in the department.

   After the bifurcation of the university, this programme is affiliated to ManonmaniumSundaranar University, Tirunelveli. Due to the universal nature of the programme, the applied electronics course was replaced by Chemistry course.

   More than thousand students had been graduated from this department and at present, we have an intake of 48 students. The department produces very good pass percentage every year and the student progression to higher studies was appreciable.

   The department was augmented with the introduction of PG programme during the year 2015-16. At present 25 students were admitted in this programme. The department has well qualified staff members and well equipped UG and PG laboratories and spacious class rooms.

   This department had produced 13 Ph.D students under the guidance of our staff members. At present, we have four research guides under whom 8 students are doing their research studies. We applied to the university to give affiliation to the research centre.